California Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye issued a statement on the justice system's role in addressing racism and bias.
Starting Monday, March 2, North County residents will no longer be required to drive to downtown San Diego to file their probate matters.
KRON4 journalist Pam Moore takes a look at the Chief Justice's tenure leading California's judicial branch.
Find out how the judicial branch is recruiting bilingual professionals at schools, cultural festivals, and interpreting events in other industries.
The budget cuts $200 million from the state court system, though $150 million could be restored if the federal government sends additional aid by the fall.
In 2016, the Judicial Council continued focusing on efforts to better stabilize branch funding, improve branch governance, and to address concerns about fairness raised by the public, our sister branches of government, and stakeholders throughout the state.
Courthouse projects in various stages—all require funding to continue. Others are indefinitely delayed.
See how new and renovated courthouses are making jury service a more comfortable experience.
May 9-13 is Juror Appreciation Week, but courts are making the jury system better all year with check-in kiosks, text reminders, and web-based services.
The Supreme Court of California will begin live webcasting of its early-May three-day oral argument calendar session in San Francisco, beginning May 3. The decision to webcast the court's oral argument calendar sessions was announced by Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye in her 2016 State of the Judiciary Address to a joint session of the California Legislature in March.
Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye this week called for the creation of a Judicial Council Budget Committee to review recommendations on statewide budget changes, the use of statewide reserves, and proposals for grant funding for judicial branch ...
The Judicial Council has revised rules of court and forms to help implement a statute that expands the use of expedited jury trials in California, effective July 1.