Can a presiding judge disqualify an entire bench? The answer is a decisive “no”, according to the Supreme Court Committee on Judicial Ethics Opinions, the ethical rule is that no judge may decide if another judge is disqualified. But they also gave...
A California Supreme Court committee today published guidance for judges who want to attend public demonstrations and rallies, citing a slate of ethical issues for judges to consider before participating.
The Supreme Court Committee on Judicial Ethics Opinions (CJEO) this month posted a summary of oral advice stating appellate justices should disqualify themselves from a case if they were removed by peremptory challenge while hearing the case as a trial judge.
A judge can only be reimbursed for expenses incurred during official duties under policies, procedures, and rates approved by the Judicial Council.
Since April, the state Supreme Court rolled a large screen television into its San Francisco courtroom to conduct oral arguments.
Court of Appeal in Fresno spearheads projects to modernize and expand access to justice for Californians appealing their cases.
A look back at highlights of the court's 2018-2019 year.
Seeded with more than $500,000 in grant money from the Judicial Council, the Fresno court is one of 50 programs funded through the Court Innovations Grant Program.
As the Chief Justice prepares to address the Legislature on the 2019 State of the Judiciary, a look back at some key judicial branch milestones.
Webcasts of the court’s oral arguments have been accessed more than 44,000 times since it began streaming them last year.
In 2016, the Judicial Council continued focusing on efforts to better stabilize branch funding, improve branch governance, and to address concerns about fairness raised by the public, our sister branches of government, and stakeholders throughout the state.
The Supreme Court Committee on Judicial Ethics Opinions (CJEO) issued oral advice that judges must follow a new law prohibiting compensation for solemnizing a marriage--legislation effective January 1, 2017, changes the law.