Courts of Appeal

The California Courts of Appeal are the state's intermediate courts of review. Their primary function is to ensure that the law is interpreted and applied correctly.

The California Courts of Appeal review the vast majory of appealable orders or judgments from superior courts. The primary exception involves death penalty cases, which automatically are appealed directly to the California Supreme Court.

California has six appellate districts, based on geography. Some districts are further subdivided into divisions. A presiding justice and two or more associate justices sit in each appellate district. In the most recent year, more than 20,000 appeals and original proceedings were filed in the California Courts of Appeal.

News Stream

“Outreach Plus” Announced for Bishop Union High School

September 05, 2017 | News Release
RIVERSIDE—Presiding Justice Manuel A. Ramirez has announced that the Court of Appeal, Fourth Appellate District, Division Two, will participate in an “Outreach Plus” program at Bishop Union High School in Inyo County on Thursday, September 21, 2017.
Categories: Courts of Appeal
1 2 3 4 5
Showing 2130 of 50 Items

California Courts on Twitter

Site Map | Careers | Contact Us | Accessibility | Public Access to Records | Terms of Use | Privacy