Courts of Appeal

The California Courts of Appeal are the state's intermediate courts of review. Their primary function is to ensure that the law is interpreted and applied correctly.

The California Courts of Appeal review the vast majory of appealable orders or judgments from superior courts. The primary exception involves death penalty cases, which automatically are appealed directly to the California Supreme Court.

California has six appellate districts, based on geography. Some districts are further subdivided into divisions. A presiding justice and two or more associate justices sit in each appellate district. In the most recent year, more than 20,000 appeals and original proceedings were filed in the California Courts of Appeal.

News Stream

Argued in Brawley

May 11, 2018 | Feature
The Court of Appeal Calendar Notice read "Tuesday, May 1, 2018 at 10 a.m. (Imperial County oral argument)", and after the oral argument session the case Dockets read "argued in Brawley." That's because the Fourth District, Division One traveled from its downtown San Diego courtroom to Imperial County to enable nearly 500 local students to experience their justice system in action, maybe to inspire some of them to become future lawyers, and perhaps even Court of Appeal justices.
Categories: Courts of Appeal
1 2 3 4 5
Showing 1120 of 50 Items

California Courts on Twitter

Site Map | Careers | Contact Us | Accessibility | Public Access to Records | Terms of Use | Privacy