info alert banner:
COVID News Center:

Statewide emergency actions and updates on county court services and operations here

Courts of Appeal

  • Six districts, 19 divisions, 9 court locations
  • Number of authorized justices: 106
  • Appeals disposed of by written opinion: 8,934
  • More data points in the Court Statistics Report

The California Courts of Appeal are the state's intermediate courts of review. Their primary function is to ensure that the law is interpreted and applied correctly.

The California Courts of Appeal review the vast majory of appealable orders or judgments from superior courts. The primary exception involves death penalty cases, which automatically are appealed directly to the California Supreme Court.

California has six appellate districts, based on geography. Some districts are further subdivided into divisions. A presiding justice and two or more associate justices sit in each appellate district. 

state map illustrating court appellate districts if california