News Release

Mandatory E-Filing for Attorneys to Begin in Third Appellate District

SACRAMENTO—The California Court of Appeal for the Third Appellate District will require attorneys to comply with mandatory e-filing in all case types beginning September 14, 2015. Attorneys will e-file documents using TrueFiling, an e-filing portal developed by ImageSoft, Inc. Optional e-filing through the TrueFiling system may begin as early as August 24, 2015. Self-represented litigants will be permitted, but will not be required, to e-file documents using TrueFiling.

“Our transition to e-filing will improve access to justice by allowing members of the public to conveniently file and serve court documents,” said Presiding Justice Vance Raye. “We very much appreciate the assistance we have received from court users in helping us prepare for this important enhancement to our services.”

The Third Appellate District has adopted a new Local Rule 5PDF file type icon governing e-filing in the Court of Appeal. A copy of the rule is available on the Court’s website at, or in the California Official Reports (Number 20 dated July 30, 2015).

Pre-registration for e-filing is now open on the TrueFiling website. To register, go to

Implementation Resources:
TrueFiling - Law Firm User Guide
TrueFiling - Training Video LibraryExternal link icon
ImageSoft - TrueFiling TroubleshootingExternal link icon

The Third Appellate District courthouse is located in Sacramento. The court has jurisdiction over cases originating in the following counties: Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Mono, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Yolo, and Yuba. There are 11 justices on the court.