Incoming Judicial Council Member Terms Begin This Week

Two judges and an attorney join the Judicial Council, terms begin Sept 15, 2016. Ms. Audra Ibarra Audra Ibarra is an appellate law expert and practitioner. She was...
Sep 15, 2016

At the Judicial Council's October meeting, Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye will swear in three incoming members to the Judicial Council:

Audra Ibarra
Ms. Audra Ibarra

Audra Ibarra is an appellate law expert and practitioner. She was appointed by the State Bar Board of Trustees and fills a vacancy on one of the four seats the state Constitution allots to attorneys. Her 3-year term as a voting member is Sept 15, 2016—Sept 14, 2019. more >>

Judge Jeffrey Barton

Judge Jeffrey Barton is the presiding judge of the Superior Court of San Diego. He joins the Judicial Council as the incoming chair of the Trial Court Presiding Judges Advisory Committee. The committee, composed of presiding judges from California's 58 counties, contributes to the statewide administration of justice by monitoring areas of significance to the justice system. more >>

Judge Bottke
Judge C. Todd Bottke

Judge C. Todd Bottke's term as the incoming president of the California Judges Association begins Oct 1, 2016. His one-year term on the Judicial Council as an advisory member begins Sept 15, 2016. Judge C. Todd Bottke presides over the Tehama County Superior Court. He was appointed to the court in 2010. more >>

How Are Members Selected to Serve on the Council?

Nomination materials are posted to the Judicial Council's website for individuals who wish to be considered for an appointment. To be alerted when nominations are posted, subscribe to the California Courts Alerts feed.

The process for collecting nominations is outlined in Cailfornia Rules of Court, rules 10.40–10.64:

(1) The committee publicizes vacancies and solicits nominations. Nominations for advisory member positions are solicited from the Court Executives Advisory Committee, the Appellate Court Clerks Association, the California Court Commissioners Association, and other related bodies. The selected nominees should represent diverse backgrounds, experiences, and geographic locations.

(2)The committee submits a list of at least three nominees to the Chief Justice for each vacant position, except for the Supreme Court associate justice position. The committee gives added consideration to persons who have served on advisory committees or task forces.

(3)If the Chief Justice is a member of the Executive and Planning Committee, the Chief Justice does not participate in discussions relating to nominations.