
THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 

 Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, leading to health and safety concerns 

resulting in substantial operational impediments, and the proclamations of states of 

emergency by federal, state, and local officials, it was determined on March 18, 

March 23, and April 22, 2020, that the conditions described in Government Code 

section 68115 were met with regard to the Superior Court of California, County of 

Butte (Court).  Based on those determinations, and at the request of Presiding 

Judge Clare Keithley, three prior emergency orders issued, authorizing the Court 

to implement certain relief under Government Code section 68115.  Upon the 

renewed request of Presiding Judge Keithley, it is determined that the conditions 

described in Government Code section 68115(a) continue to exist (Gov. Code, 

§ 68115(b)), and it is ordered that the Court is authorized to do the following:   

 
• Declare that from July 20, 2020, to August 3, 2020, inclusive, be 

deemed holidays for purposes of computing time under Welfare and 
Institutions Code sections 313, 315, and 334, if the above-described 
emergency conditions prevent the Court from conducting proceedings 
or accepting filings as necessary to satisfy these deadlines on those dates 
(Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(5)); 

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 825 of the Penal Code within 

which a defendant charged with a felony offense must be taken before a 
magistrate from 48 hours to not more than 7 days, applicable only to 
cases in which the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from 
July 20, 2020, to August 3, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(8)); 

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 1382 of the Penal Code for 

the holding of a criminal trial by not more than 30 days, applicable only 
to cases in which the original or previously extended statutory deadline 
otherwise would expire from July 20, 2020, to August 3, 2020, inclusive 
(Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(10); Executive Order N-38-20 (03-27-20)); 
 

• Extend the time period provided in section 313 of the Welfare and 
Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending 
dependency proceedings must be released from custody to not more 
than seven days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory 
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deadline otherwise would expire from July 20, 2020, to August 3, 2020, 
inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11)); 

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 315 of the Welfare and 

Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending 
dependency proceedings must be given a detention hearing to not more 
than seven days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory 
deadline otherwise would expire from July 20, 2020, to August 3, 2020, 
inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11)); and 

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 334 of the Welfare and 

Institutions Code within which a hearing on a juvenile dependency 
petition must be held by not more than 15 days, applicable only to 
minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from 
July 20, 2020, to August 3, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, 
§ 68115(a)(12)). 

 

 
 
Date: July 21, 2020 
 

       
____________________________ 

Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye 
Chief Justice of California and 
Chair of the Judicial Council 

 


