THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, leading to health and safety concerns resulting in substantial operational impediments, and the proclamations of states of emergency by Governor Newsom and President Trump, it was determined that the conditions described in section 68115(a) of the Government Code were met with regard to the Superior Court of California, County of San Diego as of March 17, 2020, April 2, 3, and 29, 2020, and June 4, 10, 16, and 30, 2020. Orders issued on those dates at the request of Presiding Judge Lorna A. Alksne, authorizing the Court to implement certain relief under section 68115. Upon the renewed request of Presiding Judge Alksne, it is determined that the conditions described in section 68115(a) continue to exist (Gov. Code, § 68115(b)), and it is ordered that the Court is authorized to do the following:

• Extend the time period provided in section 825 of the Penal Code within which a defendant charged with a felony offense must be taken before a magistrate from 48 hours to not more than 7 days, applicable only to cases in which the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from July 16, 2020, to August 12, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(8)).

Date: July 14, 2020

T. Cantle Jakanje

Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye Chief Justice of California and Chair of the Judicial Council