THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, leading to health and safety concerns resulting in substantial operational impediments, and the proclamations of states of emergency by Governor Newsom and President Trump, it was determined that the conditions described in section 68115(a) of the Government Code were met with regard to the Superior Court of California, County of Stanislaus as of March 18, April 16, May 15, June 10, and June 12, 2020. Orders issued on those dates authorizing the Court to implement certain relief under section 68115. Upon the renewed request of Assistant Presiding Robert B. Westbrook, it is determined that the conditions described in section 68115(a) continue to exist (Gov. Code, § 68115(b)), and it is ordered that the Court is authorized to do the following:

• Extend the time period provided in section 825 of the Penal Code within which a defendant charged with a felony offense must be taken before a magistrate from 48 hours to not more than 7 days, applicable only to cases in which the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from June 22, 2020, to July 18, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(8)).

Date: June 19, 2020

Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye Chief Justice of California and Chair of the Judicial Council

T. Cantle Jakange