
THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

 

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, leading to health and safety concerns 

resulting in substantial operational impediments, and the proclamations of states of 

emergency by Governor Newsom and President Trump, it was determined that the 

conditions described in section 68115(a) of the Government Code were met with regard 

to the Superior Court of California, County of San Diego as of March 17 and 18, 2020, 

April 2, 3, and 29, 2020, and June 4 and 10, 2020. Orders issued on those dates at the 

request of Presiding Judge Lorna A. Alksne, authorizing the Court to implement certain 

relief under section 68115. Upon the renewed request of Presiding Judge Alksne, it is 

determined that the conditions described in section 68115(a) continue to exist (Gov. 

Code, § 68115(b)), and it is ordered that the Court is authorized to do the following: 

 

• Extend the time period provided in section 825 of the Penal Code within which 

a defendant charged with a felony offense must be taken before a magistrate 

from 48 hours to not more than 7 days, applicable only to cases in which the 

statutory deadline otherwise would expire from June 19, 2020, to July 15, 

2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(8)). 

 

 

 

 

 

Date: June 16, 2020 

 

 

____________________________ 

Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye 

Chief Justice of California and 

Chair of the Judicial Council 


