THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, leading to health and safety concerns resulting in substantial operational impediments, and the proclamations of states of emergency by Governor Newsom and President Trump, it was determined that the conditions described in section 68115(a) of the Government Code were met with regard to the Superior Court of California, County of Kern as of March 17, 2020, March 19, 2020, and April 1, 2020. Orders issued on those dates at the request of Presiding Judge Judith K. Dulcich, authorizing the Court to implement relief authorized by section 68115. Upon the renewed request of Presiding Judge Dulcich, it is determined that the conditions described in section 68115(a) continue to exist (Gov. Code, § 68115(b)), and it is ordered that the Court is authorized to do the following:

- Extend the time period provided in section 313 of the Welfare and Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending dependency proceedings must be released from custody to not more than 7 days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from May 1, 2020, to May 29, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11));
- Extend the time period provided in section 315 of the Welfare and Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending dependency proceedings must be given a detention hearing to not more than 7 days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from May 1, 2020, to May 29, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11));
- Extend the time periods provided in sections 632 and 637 of the Welfare and Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending wardship proceedings and charged with a felony offense must be given a detention hearing or rehearing to not more than 7 days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from May 1, 2020, to May 29, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11));
- Extend the time period provided in section 334 of the Welfare and Institutions Code within which a hearing on a juvenile dependency petition must be held by not more than 15 days, applicable only to

minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from May 1, 2020, to May 29, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(12)); and

• Extend the time period provided in section 657 of the Welfare and Institutions Code within which a hearing on a wardship petition for a minor charged with a felony offense must be held by not more than 15 days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from May 1, 2020, to May 29, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(12)).

Date: May 1, 2020

T. Cantl- Jakanze

Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye Chief Justice of California and Chair of the Judicial Council