
THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, leading to health and safety concerns 

resulting in substantial operational impediments, it was determined that the 

conditions described in section 68115 of the Government Code were met with 

regard to the Superior Court of California, County of El Dorado, as of 

March 17, 2020.  At the request of Presiding Judge Suzanne N. Kingsbury, an 

Order issued on March 18, 2020, authorizing the Court to implement certain relief 

provided in section 68115(a).  Due to the pandemic, Governor Gavin Newsom has 

declared a statewide state of emergency, and President Donald Trump has declared 

a national state of emergency, both of which remain in effect.   

Upon the renewed request of Presiding Judge Kingsbury, it is determined 

that emergency conditions, as described in Government Code section 68115 

continue to exist.  Accordingly, pursuant to Government Code section 68115(a) 

and (b), the Superior Court of El Dorado County is authorized to do the following: 

 
• Hold sessions anywhere in the county, including in correctional and 

juvenile detention facilities, from April 16, 2020, to May 15, 2020, 
inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(1)); 

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 313 of the Welfare and 

Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending 
dependency proceedings must be released from custody to not more 
than seven days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory 
deadline otherwise would expire from April 16, 2020, to May 15, 2020, 
inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11)); 

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 315 of the Welfare and 

Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending 
dependency proceedings must be given a detention hearing to not more 
than seven days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory 
deadline otherwise would expire from April 16, 2020, to May 15, 2020, 
inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11)); 

 
• Extend the time periods provided in sections 632 and 637 of the Welfare 

and Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending 
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wardship proceedings and charged with a felony offense must be given 
a detention hearing or rehearing to not more than seven days, applicable 
only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire 
from April 16, 2020, to May 15, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, 
§ 68115(a)(11)); 

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 334 of the Welfare and 

Institutions Code within which a hearing on a juvenile dependency 
petition must be held by not more than 15 days, applicable only to 
minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from 
April 16, 2020, to May 15, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, 
§ 68115(a)(12)); and 

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 657 of the Welfare and 

Institutions Code within which a hearing on a wardship petition for a 
minor charged with a felony offense must be held by not more than 
15 days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline 
otherwise would expire from April 16, 2020, to May 15, 2020, inclusive 
(Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(12)). 

 
 
Date: April 16, 2020 
 

       
____________________________ 

Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye 
Chief Justice of California and 
Chair of the Judicial Council 

 


