
THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, causing health and safety concerns 

and findings by the California Department of Public Health that gatherings in 

venues that do not allow for social distancing of six feet per person should be 

cancelled, it was determined that the conditions described in section 68115 of the 

Government Code were met with regard to the Superior Court of California, 

County of Lake, as of March 16, 2020.  At the request of Presiding Judge Michael 

S. Lunas, an Order issued on that date, authorizing the Court to implement certain 

relief provided in section 68115(a).  Due to the pandemic, Governor Gavin 

Newsom has declared a statewide state of emergency, and President Donald J. 

Trump has declared a national state of emergency, both of which remain in effect.   

Upon the renewed request of Presiding Judge Lunas, it is determined that 

the emergency conditions, as described in Government Code section 68115, 

continue to exist.  Accordingly, pursuant to Government Code section 68115(a) 

and (b), the Superior Court of Lake County is authorized to do the following: 

 

• Hold sessions anywhere in the county, including in correctional and 
juvenile detention facilities, from April 2, 2020, to May 1, 2020, 
inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(1)); 

 
• Declare that from April 2, 2020, to May 1, 2020, inclusive, be deemed 

holidays for purposes of computing the time for filing papers with the 
court under Code of Civil Procedure sections 12 and 12a, if the above-
described emergency conditions substantially interfere with the public’s 
ability to file papers in a court facility on those dates (Gov. Code, 
§ 68115(a)(4)); 

 
• Declare that from April 2, 2020, to May 1, 2020, inclusive, be deemed 

holidays for purposes of computing time under Penal Code section 825 
and Welfare and Institutions Code sections 313, 315, 334, 631, 632, 
637, and 657, if the above-described emergency conditions prevent the 
court from conducting proceedings or accepting filings as necessary to 
satisfy these deadlines on those dates (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(5)); 
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• Extend the time periods provided in sections 583.310 and 583.320 of 
the Code of Civil Procedure to bring an action to trial by not more than 
60 days, applicable only to cases in which the statutory deadline 
otherwise would expire from April 2, 2020, to May 1, 2020, inclusive 
(Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(6)); 

 
• Extend by not more than 60 days the duration of any temporary 

restraining order that would otherwise expire on from April 2 2020, to 
May 1, 2020, inclusive, because the emergency condition described 
herein prevented the court from conducting proceedings to determine 
whether a permanent order should be entered (Gov. Code, 
§ 68115(a)(7)); 

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 825 of the Penal Code within 

which a defendant charged with a felony offense must be taken before a 
magistrate from 48 hours to not more than seven days, applicable only 
to cases in which the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from 
April 2, 2020, to April 27, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(8)); 

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 859b of the Penal Code for 

the holding of a preliminary examination from 10 court days to not 
more than 15 court days, applicable only to cases in which the statutory 
deadline otherwise would expire from April 2, 2020, to May 1, 2020, 
inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(9));  

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 1382 of the Penal Code for 

the holding of a criminal trial by not more than 30 days, applicable only 
to cases in which the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from 
April 2, 2020, to May 1, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(10)); 
 

• Extend the time period provided in section 313 of the Welfare and 
Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending 
dependency proceedings must be released from custody to not more 
than seven days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory 
deadline otherwise would expire from April 2, 2020, to April 27, 2020, 
inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11)); 

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 315 of the Welfare and 

Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending 
dependency proceedings must be given a detention hearing to not more 
than seven days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory 
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deadline otherwise would expire from April 2, 2020, to April 27, 2020, 
inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11)); 

 
• Extend the time periods provided in sections 632 and 637 of the Welfare 

and Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending 
wardship proceedings and charged with a felony offense must be given 
a detention hearing or rehearing to not more than seven days, applicable 
only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire 
from April 2, 2020, to April 27, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, 
§ 68115(a)(11)); 

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 334 of the Welfare and 

Institutions Code within which a hearing on a juvenile dependency 
petition must be held by not more than seven days, applicable only to 
minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from 
April 2, 2020, to April 27, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(12)); 
and 

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 657 of the Welfare and 

Institutions Code within which a hearing on a wardship petition for a 
minor charged with a felony offense must be held by not more than four 
days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline 
otherwise would expire from April 2, 2020, to April 27, 2020, inclusive 
(Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(12)). 

 
 
Date: March 27, 2020 
 

       
____________________________ 

Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye 
Chief Justice of California and 
Chair of the Judicial Council 

 


