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THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 
Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, and the proclamations of a state of emergency by 
Governor Newsom and President Trump, it has been determined that the conditions described in 
section 68115 of the Government Code are met with regard to the Superior Court of California, 
County of El Dorado. Upon the request of Presiding Judge Suzanne N. Kingsbury, it is ordered 
that the Superior Court of California, County of El Dorado is authorized to do the following: 
 

• Declare that from March 17, 2020, to March 20, 2020, inclusive, be deemed holidays for 
purposes of computing the time for filing papers with the court under Code of Civil 
Procedure sections 12 and 12a (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(4)); 

 

• Declare that from March 17, 2020 to March 20, 2020 inclusive, be deemed holidays for 
purposes of computing time under Penal Code section 825 and Welfare and Institutions 
Code sections 313, 315, 334, 631, 632, 637, and 657 (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(5)); 

 

• Extend the time periods provided in sections 583.310 and 583.320 of the Code of Civil 
Procedure to bring an action to trial by not more than 30 days, applicable only to cases in 
which the statutory deadline otherwise would expire on from March 17, 2020 to April 16, 
2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(6)); 

 

• Extend by not more than 21 days the duration of any temporary restraining order that 
would otherwise expire on from March 17, 2020 to April 16, 2020 inclusive, because the 
emergency condition described herein prevented the court from conducting proceedings 
to determine whether a permanent order should be entered (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(7)); 

 

• Extend the time period provided in section 825 of the Penal Code within which a 
defendant charged with a felony offense must be taken before a magistrate from 48 hours 
to not more than seven days, applicable only to cases in which the statutory deadline 
otherwise would expire on from March 17, 2020 to April 16, 2020 inclusive (Gov. Code, 
§ 68115(a)(8)); 

 

• Extend the time period provided in section 859b of the Penal Code for the holding of a 
preliminary examination from 10 court days to not more than 15 court days, applicable 
only to cases in which the statutory deadline otherwise would expire on from March 17, 
2020 to April 16, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(9)); 

 

• Extend the time period provided in section 1382 of the Penal Code for the holding of a 
criminal trial by not more than 30 days, applicable only to cases in which the statutory 
deadline otherwise would expire on from March 17, 2020 to April 16, 2020, inclusive 
(Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(10)); 
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• Extend the time period provided in section 313 of the Welfare and Institutions Code 
within which a minor taken into custody pending dependency proceedings must be 
released from custody to not more than seven days, applicable only to minors for whom 
the statutory deadline otherwise would expire on from March 17, 2020 to April 16, 2020, 
inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11)); 

 

• Extend the time period provided in section 315 of the Welfare and Institutions Code 
within which a minor taken into custody pending dependency proceedings must be given 
a detention hearing to not more than seven days, applicable only to minors for whom the 
statutory deadline otherwise would expire on from March 17, 2020 to April 16, 2020, 
inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11)); 

 

• Extend the time periods provided in sections 632 and 637 of the Welfare and Institutions 
Code within which a minor taken into custody pending wardship proceedings and 
charged with a felony offense must be given a detention hearing or rehearing to not more 
than seven days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise 
would expire on from March 17, 2020 to April 16, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code,  
§ 68115(a)(11)); 

 

• Extend the time period provided in section 334 of the Welfare and Institutions Code 
within which a hearing on a juvenile dependency petition must be held by not more than 
15 days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would 
expire on from March 17, 2020 to April 16, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code,  
§ 68115(a)(12)); and  

 

• Extend the time period provided in section 657 of the Welfare and Institutions Code 
within which a hearing on a wardship petition for a minor charged with a felony offense 
must be held by not more than 15 days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory 
deadline otherwise would expire on from March 17, 2020 to April 16, 2020, inclusive 
(Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(12)). 

 
Date: March 18, 2020 

        
       ____________________________________ 
       Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye 
       Chief Justice of California and  
       Chair of the Judicial Council 


