## THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, causing health and safety concerns and findings by the California Department of Public Health that gatherings in venues that do not allow for social distancing of six feet per person should be cancelled, it has been determined that the conditions described in section 68115 of the Government Code are met with regard to the Superior Court of California, County of Mendocino. Due to the pandemic, Governor Gavin Newsom has declared a statewide state of emergency. Upon the request of Presiding Judge Ann C. Moorman, it is ordered that the Superior Court of Mendocino County is authorized to do the following:

- Declare that from March 17, 2020, to April 3, 2020, inclusive, be deemed holidays for purposes of computing time under Penal Code section 825 and Welfare and Institutions Code sections 334, and 632 (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(5));
- Extend by not more than 21 days the duration of any temporary restraining order that would otherwise expire from March 17, 2020, to April 3, 2020, inclusive, because the emergency condition described herein prevented the court from conducting proceedings to determine whether a permanent order should be entered (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(7));
- Extend the time period provided in section 825 of the Penal Code within which a defendant charged with a felony offense must be taken before a magistrate from 48 hours to not more than 7 days, applicable only to cases in which the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from March 17, 2020, to April 3, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(8));
- Extend the time period provided in section 859b of the Penal Code for the holding of a preliminary examination from 10 court days to not more than 15 court days, applicable only to cases in which the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from March 17, 2020, to April 3, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(9));
- Extend the time period provided in section 1382 of the Penal Code for the holding of a criminal trial by not more than 30 days, applicable only

to cases in which the statutory deadline otherwise would expire on from March 23, 2020, to April 6, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(10));

- Extend the time period provided in section 315 of the Welfare and Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending dependency proceedings must be given a detention hearing to not more than seven days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from March 17, 2020, to April 3, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11));
- Extend the time periods provided in sections 632 and 637 of the Welfare and Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending wardship proceedings and charged with a felony offense must be given a detention hearing or rehearing to not more than seven days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from March 17, 2020, to April 3, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11));
- Extend the time period provided in section 334 of the Welfare and Institutions Code within which a hearing on a juvenile dependency petition must be held by not more than 15 days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from March 17, 2020, to April 3, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(12)); and
- Extend the time period provided in section 657 of the Welfare and Institutions Code within which a hearing on a wardship petition for a minor charged with a felony offense must be held by not more than 15 days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from March 17, 2020, to April 3, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(12)).

Date: March 17, 2020

Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye Chief Justice of California and Chair of the Judicial Council

T. Cantle Jakange