
THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, leading to health and safety concerns 

resulting in substantial operational impediments, and the proclamations of states of 

emergency by federal, state, and local officials, it was determined on fourteen 

prior occasions that the conditions described in Government Code section 

68115(a) were met with regard to the Superior Court of California, County of 

Siskiyou (Court). Based on those determinations, and pursuant to the Court’s 

requests, corresponding emergency orders issued authorizing the Court to 

implement certain relief under Government Code section 68115. Upon the 

renewed request of Presiding Judge Karen L. Dixon, it is now determined that the 

conditions described in Government Code section 68115(a) continue to exist 

(Gov. Code, § 68115(c)), and it is ordered that the Court is authorized to do the 

following:   

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 313 of the Welfare and 

Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending 
dependency proceedings must be released from custody to not more 
than 7 days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline 
otherwise would expire from June 21, 2021, to July 20, 2021, inclusive 
(Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11)); 

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 315 of the Welfare and 

Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending 
dependency proceedings must be given a detention hearing to not more 
than 7 days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory  
deadline otherwise would expire from June 21, 2021, to July 20, 2021, 
inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11)); 
 

• Extend the time periods provided in sections 632 and 637 of the Welfare 
and Institutions Code within which a minor taken into custody pending 
wardship proceedings and charged with a felony offense must be given 
a detention hearing or rehearing to not more than 7 days, applicable only 
to minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from 
June 21, 2021, to July 20, 2021, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(11)); 
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• Extend the time period provided in section 334 of the Welfare and 
Institutions Code within which a hearing on a juvenile dependency 
petition must be held by not more than 15 days, applicable only to 
minors for whom the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from 
June 21, 2021, to July 20, 2021, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(12)); 
 

• Extend the time period provided in section 657 of the Welfare and 
Institutions Code within which a hearing on a wardship petition for a 
minor charged with a felony offense must be held by not more than 15 
days, applicable only to minors for whom the statutory deadline 
otherwise would expire from June 21, 2021, to July 20, 2021, inclusive 
(Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(12)); and  

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 1382 of the Penal Code 

(section 1382) for the holding of a criminal trial by not more than 
30 days, applicable only to cases in which the initial or previously 
extended statutory deadline otherwise would expire from June 21, 2021, 
to July 20, 2021, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(10); Executive 
Order N-38-20 (03-27-20)).∗   

 
 
Date:  June 21, 2021 
 
 

____________________________ 
Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye 

Chief Justice of California and 
Chair of the Judicial Council 

 
∗ This authority supplements the authority to extend section 1382 deadlines previously granted in statewide 
emergency orders and emergency orders specific to the Court. Accordingly, for any case in which the time 
to bring a defendant to trial was extended under one or more of those prior emergency orders, and the 
extended deadline falls within the above-specified time period, this order authorizes the Court to extend the 
previously extended deadline by up to an additional 30 days. For any case in which the initial section 1382 
deadline falls within the above-specified time period and is not governed by a prior emergency order, this 
order authorizes the Court to extend the time to bring a defendant to trial by a total of up to 30 days. 
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