THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, leading to health and safety concerns
resulting in substantial operational impediments, and the proclamations of states of
emergency by federal, state, and local officials, it was determined on 32 prior
occasions that the conditions described in Government Code section 68115(a)
were met with regard to the Superior Court of California, County of San Diego
(Court). Based on those determinations, and pursuant to the Court’s requests,
corresponding emergency orders issued authorizing the Court to implement certain
relief under Government Code section 68115. Upon the renewed request of
Presiding Judge Lorna A. Alksne, it is now determined that the conditions
described in section 68115(a) continue to exist (Gov. Code, § 68115(c)), and it is

ordered that the Court is authorized to do the following:

e Extend the time period provided in section 825 of the Penal Code within
which a defendant charged with a felony offense must be taken before a
magistrate from 48 hours to not more than 7 days, applicable only to
cases in which the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from
June 2, 2021, to June 17, 2021, inclusive. (Gov. Code, 8 68115(a)(8).)

Date: May 28, 2021

T- &Lbd‘“‘p’ WX(

Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye
Chief Justice of California and
Chair of the Judicial Council
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