THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, leading to health and safety concerns resulting in substantial operational impediments, and the proclamations of states of emergency by federal, state, and local officials, it was determined on twenty-five prior occasions that the conditions described in Government Code section 68115(a) were met with regard to the Superior Court of California, County of San Diego (Court). Based on those determinations, and pursuant to the Court's requests, corresponding emergency orders issued authorizing the Court to implement certain relief under Government Code section 68115. Upon the renewed request of Presiding Judge Lorna A. Alksne, it is now determined that the conditions described in section 68115(a) continue to exist (Gov. Code, § 68115(c)), and it is ordered that the Court is authorized to do the following:

• Extend the time period provided in section 825 of the Penal Code within which a defendant charged with a felony offense must be taken before a magistrate from 48 hours to not more than 7 days, applicable only to cases in which the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from February 14, 2021, to March 12, 2021, inclusive. (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(8).)

Date: February 11, 2021

Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye Chief Justice of California and Chair of the Judicial Council

1. Cantle Jakange