
THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 

 Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, leading to health and safety concerns 

resulting in substantial operational impediments, and the proclamations of states of 

emergency by federal, state, and local officials, it was determined on 

March 17 and 18, 2020; April 2, 3, and 29, 2020; June 4, 10, 16, and 30, 2020; 

July 14 and 21, 2020; August 7 and 11, 2020; September 4 and 8, 2020; and 

October 5 and 6, 2020 that the conditions described in Government Code 

section 68115 were met with regard to the Superior Court of California, County of 

San Diego (Court).  Based on those determinations, and pursuant to the Court’s 

requests, seventeen prior emergency orders issued, authorizing the Court to 

implement certain relief under Government Code section 68115.  Upon the 

renewed request of Presiding Judge Lorna A. Alksne, it is determined that the 

conditions described in Government Code section 68115(a) continue to exist 

(Gov. Code, § 68115(c)), and it is ordered that the Court is authorized to do the 

following:   

 
• Extend the time period provided in section 825 of the Penal Code within 

which a defendant charged with a felony offense must be taken before a 
magistrate from 48 hours to not more than 7 days, applicable only to 
cases in which the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from 
November 4, 2020, to November 28, 2020, inclusive.  (Gov. Code, 
§ 68115(a)(8).) 

 

 
 
Date: October 30, 2020 
 
 

____________________________ 
Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye 

Chief Justice of California and 
Chair of the Judicial Council 
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