## THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, leading to health and safety concerns resulting in substantial operational impediments, and the proclamations of states of emergency by federal, state, and local officials, it was determined that the conditions described in section 68115(a) of the Government Code were met with regard to the Superior Court of California, County of Riverside (Court) as of March 17, 20 and 23, 2020; April 1 and 24, 2020; May 26, 2020; June 2 and 23, 2020; July 21 and 29, 2020; August 14 and 19, 2020; and September 17 and 28, 2020. Based on those determinations, and pursuant to the Court's requests, fourteen prior emergency orders issued, authorizing the Court to implement certain relief under Government Code section 68115. Upon the renewed request of Assistant Presiding Judge John M. Monterosso, it is determined that the conditions described in section 68115(a) continue to exist (Gov. Code, § 68115(c)), and it is ordered that the Court is authorized to do the following:

- Hold sessions anywhere in the county, including in correctional and juvenile detention facilities, from October 17, 2020, to November 13, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(1)); and
- Extend the time period provided in section 825 of the Penal Code within which a defendant charged with a felony offense must be taken before a magistrate from 48 hours to not more than 4 days, applicable only to cases in which the statutory deadline otherwise would expire from October 17, 2020, to November 13, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(8)).

Date: October <u>15</u>, 2020

T. Cant P. Jakanje

Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye Chief Justice of California and Chair of the Judicial Council