THE JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, leading to health and safety concerns
resulting in substantial operational impediments, and the proclamations of states of
emergency by Governor Newsom and President Trump, it was determined that the
conditions described in section 68115(a) of the Government Code were met with regard
to the Superior Court of California, County of Riverside as of March 17, 20 and 23, 2020;
April 1 and 24, 2020; May 26, 2020; June 2 and 23, 2020; July 21 and 29, 2020; and
August 14 and 19, 2020. Orders issued on those dates at the request of Presiding Judge
John W. Vineyard, authorizing the Court to implement certain relief under section 68115.
Upon the renewed request of Presiding Judge Vineyard, it is determined that the
conditions described in section 68115(a) continue to exist (Gov. Code, 8 68115(c)), and it

is ordered that the Court is authorized to do the following:

e Hold sessions anywhere in the county, including in correctional and juvenile
detention facilities, from September 18, 2020, to October 16, 2020, inclusive
(Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(1)); and

e Extend the time period provided in section 825 of the Penal Code within which
a defendant charged with a felony offense must be taken before a magistrate
from 48 hours to not more than 4 days, applicable only to cases in which the
statutory deadline otherwise would expire from September 18, 2020, to
October 16, 2020, inclusive (Gov. Code, § 68115(a)(8)).
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Hon. Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye
Chief Justice of California and
Chair of the Judicial Council
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