The California Supreme Court today announced the reappointment of three current members of the Supreme Court Committee on Judicial Ethics Opinions (CJEO), an independent committee that helps inform the judiciary and public on judicial ethics.

The court reappointed committee chair Justice Ronald B. Robie of the Third District Court of Appeal; vice-chair Justice Douglas P. Miller of the Fourth District Court of Appeal, Division Two (Riverside); and Judge Robert Trentacosta of the San Diego Superior Court to new four-year terms (through Dec. 31, 2023).

This will mark the final term on the committee for Justices Robie and Miller. California Rules of Court, rule 9.80(d), provides for four-year terms and permits members to serve no more than three consecutive full terms.  

Bios of CJEO members can be found here.

About the Committee on Judicial Ethics Opinions (CJEO)
The Committee on Judicial Ethics Opinions is a 12-member advisory committee that includes appellate justices, trial court judges and commissioners. The committee is appointed and authorized by the California Supreme Court, but its work is independent of the court, the Judicial Council, and all other entities. Its opinions are advisory and do not necessarily reflect the views of the California Supreme Court or any other entity. 

The committee issues formal opinions, informal opinions, and oral advice on proper judicial conduct pursuant to the California Code of Judicial Ethics and other authorities. 

Frequently asked questions about the committee can be found here