School participation in the civic learning award sponsored by Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye and State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson has dramatically increased this year. The program, which was expanded to include all grade levels, received applications from a record 21 counties.

The Civic Learning Award program was initiated by the Chief Justice and State Superintendent three years ago to increase awareness about the need for civic education and engagement. This year 86 K-12 Schools won awards. 

The three schools with the highest honor--the Award of Excellence--will receive a visit from the Chief Justice. Those schools are Bellflower High School, Los Angeles County; Natomas Pacific Pathways Middle/High School, Sacramento County; and Kumeyaay Elementary School, San Diego County

The awards program is one part of the Chief Justice’s broader effort to bring together civic leaders, teachers, and school administrators to promote civic awareness and engagement for both students and adults.