SAN FRANCISCO— California Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye named nine members to the Judicial Council’s Advisory Committee on Audits and Financial Accountability for the Judicial Branch.

The committee will review audits of superior courts and courts of appeal and make recommendations to the Judicial Council on promoting best financial practices to further fiscal responsibility and efficiency throughout the judicial branch. Committee members include those with public and judicial branch financial backgrounds.

“One of our most important charges is ensuring that public dollars are properly spent in support of our mission to promote fair and impartial access to justice,” Cantil-Sakauye said. “This advisory committee will help ensure the judicial branch continues to manage its finances in the most efficient and transparent way.”

The Chief Justice appointed the following members to the advisory committee, effective Sept. 15:

• Judge David Rosenberg, Superior Court of Yolo County, will chair the committee. Judge Rosenberg previously served as the Yolo court’s presiding judge and has served as chairperson of the Judicial Council’s Trial Court Presiding Judge Advisory Committee. Judge Rosenberg also brings extensive experience from outside the judicial branch, serving two terms as the mayor of the City of Davis and as chairperson of his county’s Board of Supervisors.

• Associate Justice Peter J. Siggins, First District Court of Appeal, will serve as vice chair. Justice Siggins served as Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger’s Legal Affairs Secretary, where he interacted with the Legislature, the Department of Finance, and the State Auditor’s Office. Justice Siggins has been active in supporting the work of the Judicial Council, serving as a member of its Information Technology Advisory Committee and the Chief Justice’s Commission on the Future of California’s Court System.

• Judge Susan J. Matcham, Superior Court of Monterey County, also serves as Secretary/Treasurer of the California Judge’s Association Executive Board, chairing its Financial Working Group and making recommendations concerning investment policy. At the Monterey County Court, Judge Matcham oversees implementation of two Judicial Council Court Innovations Grants.

• Judge Mary Ann O’Malley, Superior Court of Contra Costa County, previously served as her court’s presiding judge and as a member of the Judicial Council, evaluating audits of the judicial branch. Judge O’Malley has also served on various advisory committees to the Judicial Council, including as chair of the Trial Court Presiding Judges Advisory Committee on State Budget, the Executive and Planning Committee, and the former Financial Accountability and Efficiency Committee.

• Kevin J. Lane, has served as clerk/executive officer for the Fourth District Court of Appeal since 2013 and previously served as an assistant clerk for nine years. Prior to joining the Fourth District, Mr. Lane worked for 14 years as an administrator for civil, criminal, juvenile dependency, probate, and specialty court programs for the Superior Court of Los Angeles County. Mr. Lane is a fellow of the Institute for Court Management.

• Sherri R. Carter is the court executive officer of the Superior Court of Los Angeles County, where she has led reengineering efforts in traffic payment processing, bond processing and the budget development process. Ms. Carter also has extensive experience serving the Judicial Council on many financial-related committees. While working for the federal judiciary in central California, Ms. Carter helped to develop and write the internal controls manual used by the federal judiciary and conducted several management and budget reviews of federal courts to aid judicial leadership.

• Kevin Harrigan has served as court executive officer for the Superior Court of Glenn County since 2016. Prior to this appointment, Mr. Harrigan served as assistant executive officer and then court executive officer for the Superior Court of Colusa County. Between 2003 and 2008, Mr. Harrigan was a court accountant for the Glenn County Court. Mr. Harrigan has been active on various advisory committees to the Judicial Council, including the Court Executives Advisory Committee, Trial Court Budget Advisory Committee, and Judicial Branch Workers’ Compensation Program Advisory Committee.

• Tania Ugrin-Capobianco has served as court executive officer for the Superior Court of El Dorado County since 2007. Between 1997 and 2005, Ms. Ugrin-Capobianco was the executive officer for the Superior Court of Mendocino County. She has been active on various advisory committees to the Judicial Council. Before joining the judicial branch, Ms. Ugrin-Capobianco held many commercial banking positions, where she was responsible for staff management, human resources, and business development.

• Phil Jelicich is a former deputy state auditor with the California State Auditor’s Office and will be a non-voting member of the advisory committee. He retired from the State Auditor’s Office in 2011 after a 33-year career in governmental auditing. Between 1995 and 2011, Mr. Jelicich was deputy state auditor and responsible for managing statewide financial audits. He has managed over 200 performance audits requested by the Joint Legislative Audit Committee, focusing on state agencies, departments, counties, cities, and special districts.