SAN FRANCISCO—Chief Justice Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye has appointed three voting members and one advisory (non-voting) member to the Judicial Council to help fill positions designated for judges that opened up out of the normal membership cycle. She also reappointed four council members to new three-year terms.

“In selecting council members, I always keep in mind that the Judicial Council’s primary goal is ‘access, fairness, and diversity’, “ said the Chief Justice. “In the coming years, we face many branchwide challenges, and we need to look for innovations in family law, juvenile law, and criminal law. We must continue to modernize the judicial branch and improve the administration of justice. Our new members bring experience and leadership in important areas of the law, while those being reappointed will help the council build on the improvements we’ve already made. I am eager to start working with our new and reappointed members, and thank our outgoing members for their invaluable service.”

Following are the Chief Justice’s newest appointments, effective Apr. 4:

  • Judge Stacy Boulware Eurie, Superior Court of Sacramento County, was appointed to a voting position through September 14, 2017, succeeding Justice Martin J. Tangeman, who was elevated to the Court of Appeal in February. Judge Boulware Eurie serves as the presiding judge of Sacramento's Juvenile Court, and is committed to highlighting and tackling the challenges facing children and families.
  • Judge Kyle S. Brodie, Superior Court of San Bernardino County, was appointed to a voting position through September 14, 2018, succeeding Justice Marsha G. Slough, who was elevated to the Court of Appeal in February. Judge Brodie has served on the council's Information Technology Advisory Committee, chairs his court's technology committee, and has helped to manage the implementation of its new case management system.
  • Judge Scott M. Gordon, Superior Court of Los Angeles County, was appointed to an advisory (non-voting) position through September 14, 2019, succeeding Judge Dalila Corral Lyons, who was elevated to a voting position on the council. Judge Gordon serves as the assistant supervising judge for the court's Criminal Division, and had a leading role in the creation of four new Community Collaborative Courts in Los Angeles County.
  • Judge Dalila Corral Lyons, Superior Court of Los Angeles County, was elevated from a non-voting advisory member to a voting position through Sep. 14, 2019, succeeding Judge Emilie Elias, who will retire from the bench. Judge Lyons has served in the court's civil general jurisdiction and felony trial departments. Prior to her appointment to the bench, she was chief legal advisor for the Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department.

The Chief Justice reappointed the following members to new terms on the council, effective through Sep. 14, 2019: Justice Douglas P. Miller, Court of Appeal, Fourth Appellate District; Judge David M. Rubin, Superior Court of San Diego County; Judge Dean T. Stout, Superior Court of Inyo County; and Frank A. McGuire, Court Administrator and Clerk, Supreme Court of California.

According to the state Constitution, the Chief Justice chairs the Judicial Council and appoints one other Supreme Court justice, three justices from the courts of appeal, 10 trial court judges, two nonvoting court administrators, “and any other nonvoting members as determined by the voting membership of the council.” Judicial Council members normally serve three years, and new terms begin in September. The State Bar’s governing body appoints four members, and the state Senate and Assembly each appoint one member.